ITIL V3 Foundation Exam Details and Syllabus (2018)

Spread the love
  • 2

ITIL v3 Foundation Exam Introduction: 

The ITIL V3 Foundation exam is the first certification exam in this ITIL V3 certification Scheme. It is the entry-level certification that offers you a general awareness of the key elements, concepts, and terminology used in the ITIL® service lifecycle. It also gives you the understanding of the links between lifecycle stages, the processes and their contribution to service management practices.

Who Should Take the Exam: 

ITIL v3 Foundation certification is primarily helpful for:

● Anyone, who require a basic understanding of the ITIL framework.
● Those who need the understanding of how ITIL can be used to enhance IT service management within an organization.
● IT professionals or others working within an organization that has adopted and adapted ITIL.
● Any personnel, who need to be informed about, or contribute to any ongoing service improvement project.

However, the ITIL v3 Foundation certification is open to all and anyone who has an interest in the subject may take benefit of it.

ITIL v3 Foundation Exam Format: 

PeopleCert ITIL ® Foundation (Yes! Since 1st Jan'2018, Only PeopleCert is authorized to take the exam.) 
Multiple choice examination questions
40 questions
26 marks required to pass (out of 40 available) - 65%
60 minutes duration
Closed book

ITIL v3 Foundation Exam Syllabus: 

Although you can get the syllabus directly from the AXELOS's Official website (Link), but here I'm reorganizing those topics in service lifecycle wise, for a better understanding of topic list. If you have purchased or following the official ITIL Foundation exam book then click the link to get the official syllabus. Else the below list will serve the purpose better:

Service strategy:

Describe the concept of best practices in the public domain.
Describe and explain why ITIL is successful.
Define and explain the concept of a service.
Define and explain the concept of internal and external customers.
Define and explain the concept of internal and external services.
Define and explain the concept of service management.
Define and explain the concept of IT service management.
Define and explain the concept of stakeholders in service management.
Define processes and functions.
Explain the process model and the characteristics of processes.
Describe the structure of the ITIL service lifecycle.
Account for the purpose, objectives, and scope of service strategy.
Briefly explain what value service strategy provides to the business.
Utility and warranty.
Assets, resources, and capabilities.
Business case.
Risk management.
Types of services.
Patterns of business activity.
Customers and users.
Describe value creation through services.
The service portfolio.
Service portfolio management.
Financial management for IT services.
Business relationship management.
Understand how service automation assists with expediting service management processes.

Service design:

Account for the purpose, objectives, and scope of service design.
Briefly explain what value service design provides to the business.
Service catalogue (both two-view and three-view types).
Service level agreement (SLA).
Operational level agreement (OLA).
Underpinning contract.
Service design package.
Understand the importance of people, processes, products, and partners for service management.
Understand the five major aspects of service design.
Account for the role and the responsibilities of the Process owner, Process manager, Process practitioner, Service owner.
Recognize the responsible, accountable, consulted, informed (RACI) responsibility model and explain its role in determining the organizational structure.
Service solutions for new or changed services.
Management information systems and tools.
Technology architectures and management architectures.
The processes required.
Measurement methods and metrics.
Service level management (SLM).
Service-based SLA.
Multi-level SLAs.
Service level requirements (SLR).
SLA monitoring (SLAM) chart.
Service review.
Service improvement plan (SIP).
The relationship between SLM and BRM.
Service catalogue management.
Availability management.
Service availability.
Component availability.
Vital business functions (VBF).
Information security management  (ISM).
Information security policy.
Supplier management.
Supplier categories.
Capacity management.
Capacity plan.
Business capacity management.
Service capacity management.
Component capacity management.
IT service continuity management.
Purpose of business impact analysis (BIA).
Risk assessment.
Design coordination.

Service transition:

Account for the purpose, objectives, and scope of service transition.
Briefly explain what value service transition provides to the business.
Service knowledge management system  (SKMS).
Configuration item (CI).
Configuration management system.
Definitive media library  (DML).
Change types  (standard, emergency and normal).
Release policy.
Change proposals.
Change management.
Types of change request.
Change models.
Remediation planning.
Change advisory board/emergency change advisory board.
Lifecycle of a normal change.
Release and deployment management.
Four phases of release and deployment.
Knowledge management.
Data-to-Information-to-Knowledge-to-Wisdom (DIKW) & SKMS.
Service asset and configuration management (SACM).
Transition planning and support.

Service operation:

Account for the purpose, objectives, and scope of service operation.
Briefly explain what value service operation provides to the business.
Impact, urgency, and priority.
Service request.
Known error.
Known error database.
The role of communication in service operation.
Incident management.
Problem management.
Event management.
Request fulfillment.
Access management.
The service desk function.
The technical management function.
The application management function.
The IT operations management function.

Continual service improvement:

Account for the main purpose, objectives, and scope of continual service improvement.
Briefly explain what value continual service improvement provides to the business.
CSI register.
The Deming Cycle (plan, do, check, act).
Explain the continual service improvement approach.
Understand the role of measurement for continual service improvement.
Relationships between Critical Success Factors (CSF) and Key-Performance Indicators (KPI).
Types of metrics (technology metrics, process metrics, service metrics).
The seven-step improvement process.


We hope that you have enjoyed the above article on ITIL V3 Foundation Exam Details. Be with us to explore free training on Leading Technologies and Certifications.

Leave us some comments if you have any question on the ITIL Foundation Exam, we would definitely try to clarify on them.

If you like our articles please like our facebook and twitter page to receive notifications on recent and updated contents.

Spread the love
  • 2
Posted in ITIL Foundation and tagged , , , .

I'm passionate about Information Technology & spreading my knowledge makes me happy. I Have MBA(IS), ITIL, PRINCE2, CCNA, CCNP, MCSA, MS Hyper-V Certifications, and Trained in PMP, CCIE. And also have 10+ Yrs of Work Experience.
I wish you all the best in your career !!!!

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments